It is interesting to note that a report given at the 1951 meeting in Anderson, Indiana predicted decreased college enrollment for a period of some years, and a consequent period of difficulty for such organizations as Sigma Zeta. The predicted "emergency", of course, never came. At this meeting the petition of Chi Chapter at Missouri Valley College, Marshall, Missouri was approved. Chi Chapter did not survive its first year; it was reactivated in 1967.

The 1953 convention at Dekalb, Illinois was the best attended to date, with thirteen of the seventeen active chapters represented. Thirteen chapters were also present in 1954 at Macomb, Illinois. At this meeting the Sigma Zeta Development Fund was established to receive contributions, the interest from which would be used to "foster and promote the growth and development of the society."

In 1956 the convention at Stevens Point, Wisconsin, approved the application for a charter of Psi Chapter at Central Missouri State College in Warrensburg. At this same meeting Sister Mary Clarence of Sigma Chapter completed ten years as National Editor, and was given special recognition for her years of service. Since the organization had been operating at a deficit for some four years, at this meeting constitutional amendments increased the initiation fee to five dollars and the associate fee to one dollar.

Shurtleff College became the Alton Residence Center of Southern Illinois University in 1957, and Alpha Chapter passed out of existence. This chapter had seen thirty-two years of active participation in Sigma Zeta and its departure from the affairs of the Society was regretted by all.

At Macomb, Illinois, in 1958 it became necessary to revoke the charter of Omicron Chapter at Wilson Teachers College, Washington, D.C. The institution had merged with another in 1955 and the chapter was inactive.

Over the years there had arisen some difference in interpretation of membership qualification, and in 1959 at the convention in Decatur, Illinois, constitutional amendments clarified the matter. The status of faculty membership in the organization was also reviewed and differences in practices of the various chapters reconciled. At this same meeting a uniform set of standards to be followed by students presenting papers at the conventions was established.

In 1959, Gilbert W. Faust, who had been National Recorder-Treasurer for seventeen years, relinquished the position. He did not cease his affiliation with Sigma Zeta, however, for he was subsequently elected National President twice and Past National President twice. He was succeeded as Recorder-Treasurer by Duane E. Deal, who held the position until 1966, when Kenneth E. Cook was elected to the office.

At the 1961 meeting in Stevens Point, Wisconsin, The Sigma Zeta Honor Award was established. This award is granted by the Executive Council to not more than one member of each chapter per year for outstanding scientific achievement and promise, as well as chapter leadership.

Omega Chapter at the State Teachers College, Frostburg, Maryland, and Alpha Alpha Chapter at the State University College, Oswego, New York were both chartered in 1961. Early in 1963 charter ceremonies were held for Alpha Beta Chapter at Campbellsville College, Campbellsville, Kentucky.

In the spring of 1969, four chapters were installed: Alpha Gamma Chapter at Malone University, Canton, Ohio; Alpha Delta chapter at Sacred Heart College, Wichita, Kansas; Alpha Epsilon Chapter at Marion College, Marion, Indiana; and Alpha Zeta Chapter at Indiana State University, Terre Haute, Indiana. That fall, Alpha Eta Chapter was installed at Olivet College, Olivet, Michigan.

At the 1969 convention, approval was voted to establish associate chapters at two-year schools on a trial basis.